10 Tourism Clusters

The government aims to develop 10 strategic tourism areas in the country.

Budget Secretary Florencio Abad said the 10 “international tourism gateway clusters” are Laoag, Ilocos Norte (including Pagudpud) and Vigan, Ilocos Sur (with 373,000 underemployed and 172,000 unemployed among the local population); Central Luzon, which covers Subic-Clark-Tarlac-Corregidor, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Bulacan, the Zambales coast, Bataan coast and inland, and Aurora (505,00 underemployed/ 384,000 unemployed); Metro Manila and Calabarzon region — Metro Manila, Nasugbu-Looc-Ternate-Cavite Coast, Laguna de Bay, Batangas peninsula, Quezon coast and islands (894,000 underemployed/ 466,000 unemployed); and BicolCamarines and Catanduanes, AIbay-Sorsogon-Masbate (780,000 underemployed/148,000 unemployed).

Other clusters are Palawan, which covers San Vicente-EI Nido-Taytay, Puerto Princesa, Southern Palawan Busuanga-Coron-Culion (282,000 underemployed/55,000 unemployed);  Central VisayasCebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor  and Bohol (605,000 underemployed/224,000 unemployed); Western VisayasIloilo, Negros Occidental, Aklan, Antique, Capiz  and Guimaras, (659,00 underemployed/212,000 unemployed); Cagayan de Oro Coast and Hinterlands — Camiguin, Misamis Oriental, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Bukidnon (556,000 underemployed/95,000 unemployed); and the Davao gulf and coast — Davao City, Samal island, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Compostela Valley and Davao Oriental (335,000 underemployed/119,000 unemployed).

“For 2014-2015, [these] international gateway tourism clusters will continue to be the focal areas for public investment support because of the need to complete the international airports and access roads in these clusters,” said Secretary Abad.

You may also like...