Eight New Tourism Zones

The House of Representatives has identified eight sites across the country as new tourist zones.
The chamber, during a plenary session held on 26th August 2014, voted to approve on third and final reading several measures declaring the following as tourism spots: Puraran Beach in Baras, Catanduanes; Five Mabinay Caves in Mabinay, Negros Oriental; Balinsayao and Danao twin lakes in Sibulan, Negros Oriental; Nati Spring in Senator Ninoy Aquino, Sultan Kudarat; and the entire province of Misamis Oriental.
Authors of the approved measures tasked the Department of Tourism (DoT) to promote the sites as tourist destinations, alongside the preservation and maintenance of the areas.  The Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority and these areas’ respective local government units, under the measures, are also tasked to boost local tourism in these sites as sources of additional revenue once these are signed into law by President Benigno S. C. Aquino III.
Meanwhile, the chamber also approved on third and final reading bills on the declaration of Mount Pinatubo and the Sagrada Familia caves in Zambales as ecotourism zones.
The House of Representatives also approved a measure declaring the municipality of Talaingod in Davao Del Norte as an eco-cultural tourism zone, and called for the creation of a cultural heritage village to promote the traditions of the local Ata-Manobos. 

You may also like...